When they fall like flies – some home remedy for colds and flus

Standard

There are few days in my life when I dread being a mom than the days when the kids fall like flies with a sickness. We do not get sick very often but when we do there are a few simple truths I have come to accept over the years…

cold1, I know it is likely to hit all of them

2, I hate to clean up throw-up

3, it makes everyone extra grouchy

4, with a family of my size it will take a good month before it is gone

last but not least 5, I know its coming for ME and it will likely get me when all the kids are feeling better! OF COURSE!

So how do we deal with sicknesses in our house? Well we don’t go to the Dr. unless I really feel it is really necessary. They are very costly and often times treat the symptom not the source. Plus it tends to hurt more when you are told with-in 5 mins, thanks for coming in – it has to run its course, now pay $85 on your way out & be sure to take some Tylenol.

Now that you know what we don’t do, here is what we do – do;

Vitamin C is my best friend!! Take tons of the stuff! My mid-wife sold me one this years ago when I had a breast infection, she told me; “take it until you get the runs” (sorry for the bluntness) and guess what it worked! NO anti-botics! Now you can call me a believer.

Oregano oil, you can take it internally (be sure to get the pure oil for medicinal grade) and combine it with a carrier oil and rub on your chest, back and bottom of your feet. It tastes nasty so chase it down with stong OJ and if not properly diluted with a carrier oil it burns.

Grapefruit seed extract

Mullein Leaf extract

Hot tea and raw honey

home-made chicken soup – Grandmother knew a thing or two!  All the research agrees that chicken soup helps break up congestion and eases  the flow of nasal secretions. Many say it also inhibits white blood cells that  trigger the inflammatory response, causing sore throats and the production of  phlegm. Chicken also contains an amino acid called cysteine that is released  when you make the soup. This amino acid thins mucus in the lungs, aiding in the  healing process.

When combined with nutrient rich veggies, homemade chicken soup can  definitely help the healing process in those who fall prey to colds or the flu!  http://www.naturalnews.com/021260.html#ixzz2Nxp2bdh4

Mullen Leaf steam for stuffy noses, Make a pot of boiling water add the leaves, stir. Lean your head over the pot and breath in the steam, be careful not to burn yourself! You can also drape a towel over your head and create a steam bath for you sinuses!

For coughing here is a great recipe: http://nancyvienneau.com/blog/articles/home-remedy/ or this one http://wellnessmama.com/7969/herbal-cough-syrup/

If you have a diffuser, diffuse oregano oil with peppermint and eucalyptus globulus and  breath it through out the day.

Plenty of rest and sleep!

Do you have any herbal remedies you use for your family? How do you fight off the nasty cold and flu bugs?

I would love to hear what works for your family!

Leave a comment